top of page

Dr. M.V. Shetty College of Nursing

Dr .M.V Shetty College of Nursing established in the year 1987 is the first nursing institute to be started under private sector in the state of Karnataka offering programmes in nursing science aiming to produce qualified nursing professionals who;

  • possess high professional qualifications and have intensive clinical training

  • show maturity along with professional updating and social accountability

  • are enabled to develop leadership skills combined with ethical practices

  • are well informed in health care informatics and management

  • can function independently and as a part of patient care in coordinated teams

  • can work well in co-operation with national and international health care units.

  • will perform effectively in areas of Nursing service, Nursing education, Nursing administration and Nursing research.




“Nursing is a caring profession, who serves in all the settings, in which we require to train them adequately with quality education by providing in all the facilities”


“DR. M.V. Shetty College of nursing prepares professional nurse who are dedicated to serve the society and humankind at large”

Nursing Courses:

The different courses in Nursing sciences are B.Sc. Nursing (Basic) was started during the academic year 1987-88, the B.Sc Nursing (Post Certificate) was started during the academic year 1989-90 and the M.Sc. Nursing started during the academic year 1992-93. All these courses were initially affiliated to Mangalore University and subsequently during the academic year 1996-97 all these courses are transferred to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore.
All these Courses are recognized by Karnataka Nursing Council and Indian Nursing Council and are affiliated to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore.

Clinical Postings

  1. Wenlock District Hospital Mangalore.

  2. Lady Goschen Hospital Mangalore.

  3. RAPCC (Regional Advanced Paediatric Care Centre).

  4. Father Muller Medical College Hospital Mangalore.

  5. National Institute of Mental Health & Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS)

  6. Dharwad Institute Of Mental Health And Neuro Sciences (DIMHANS)

  7. Kidwai Memorial Institute of Oncology (KMIO), Bangalore.

  8. Narayana Hrudayalaya Bangalore.

  9. Mangalore Institute of Oncology (MIO).

  10. Rural & Urban Community Health centres Mangalore.




  • Medical Surgical and Fundamental Nursing

  • Obstetrical & Gynaecological Nursing

  • Psychiatric Nursing

  • Paediatric Nursing

  • Community Health Nursing

Email Id -

bottom of page